Hyperventilation!

This thing, I don’t know why the heck it exists, had ruined my wife’s day several times now. She’s been in this state even during college. I’m just very thankful to God that HE’s always there for my wife whenever hyperventilation attacks.

In medicine, hyperventilation (or overbreathing) is the state of breathing faster and/or deeper than necessary, thereby reducing the carbon dioxide concentration of the blood below normal.

wikipedia

About a month ago, while on the bus heading to the office one early morning, my wife suddenly felt difficulty in breathing. She said that she feels her neck a little thicker and she’s very uncomforable that time. At first, I thought that it wouldn’t be worse but very quickly, my wife was panicking. She’s loosing her voice, she’s breathing faster, she felt like she’s gonna faint and I didn’t know what to do. All I did is tell her to calm down, take control, although I knew that it’s hard for her to do so.

She thought that it was an allergic reaction so she took a tablet of antihistamine. But she’s really not feeling better. So she called her mom but no voices came out of her mouth. It was pure air. She kept in control a little longer until the nearest hospital and we headed directly to the ER.

Early this morning while I was still in the office, she texted me telling me to not go home yet because she’s feeling it again. She’s already on her way and her best option is to drop by the hospital again before she runs out of air again. Cutting it short, I met her at the same hospital. We’ve been textmates again for almost a week and I never thought that our EB will be at the hospital.

And that’s how I hate Hyperventilation. My wife is on her 1st quarter of pregnancy and it’s attacking? No way!

My wife needs some rest I think. But she can’t. But I’m still looking at that chance that she can have another long leave of absence again. It’s truly risky for her and our baby inside her. And I think I should stop taking night shifts so I can take care of her. It’s a very looooooooooooong trip from Dasmariñas Cavite to Makati.

  1. oh, daddy nice ash
    i just hope sexy working mom will be better. i had 7 pregnancies, but i didn’t have any major problem (altho the last 5 were by caesarian section)

  2. Thanks sexymom. We won’t have 7 I guess. Our first baby was by csec as well.

  1. 1 God Is The Only Answer · Ala Eh, The Batangas Blog!

    […] Hyperventilation thing, it happened again. My wife already headed off to the office this morning. I am on night shift […]




Leave a Reply

